I guess I’ll have to get a fence

I sometimes rant.  I’m not always gentle, meek and mild.  Sometimes I rant to myself and no one hears or sees it. Sometimes I just have to let off steam.  Today is one of those days.

I walked to my back door to exit for some gardening.  You see, it’s August and our usually oppressive heat is not here.  It’s cool….for Carteret County.  Upon looking out my back window, there was a huge pick-up truck parked in my back yard.

My back yard opens up into an alley and there is no parking back there.  For some reason, people think my yard is a place for surplus parking.

But you see, I like grass, nice cool green grass.  Grass that’s difficult to grow in our sandy soil.  BUT I’LL NEVER HAVE ANY IF PEOPLE KEEP PARKING IN MY BACK YARD!!!!

What is it about my yard that invites people to park there?  Is it the fact that what little bit of grass is there is mown?  Is it the fact that there is a garden in the process of being cultivated?  Is it the fact that there are ornaments hanging on the house?  All of these things tell me, “Someone lives here.  This must be someone’s yard.”

It wouldn’t seem to be that big a deal but it happens repeatedly.  One day I came home from work and a construction trailer was sitting in my yard…not in the yard of the house they were working on.  Oh and there were trucks blocking the alley.  When they moved their truck to let me through, where did they park?  IN MY YARD!!!!

One day I found a car parked in my yard and it stayed there overnight.  I left a note on the windshield:  “This is private property, not public parking.  Thank you for not parking in my yard.”

This doesn’t include the many markings of spinning tires upon the sand that COULD have grass.

When that occured, a no trespassing sign was posted.

So they started parking beside my shed.  Neighbors, people off the street, anybody who took the notion to park there, did so.  So I put up a No Parking sign.  My neighbor parked there anyway.  Instead of having him towed, which I should have done, I politely and neighborly asked him to move his truck.  (He has plenty of room in his front yard to park his truck, btw.)  He said, “Oh.  Is someone parked there?”  IT WAS HIS TRUCK!

So today, instead of calling the police, I found the man who was parked in my yard and he moved his truck.  He said, “I’m sorry, m’am.  I didn’t know.”  WHAT PART OF “PRIVATE PROPERTY, NO TRESPASSING”  DON’T YOU UNDERSTAND?!  IT’S POSTED!  Of course I didn’t say that.  I just politely said, “Thank you for moving your truck” and went back to digging in the dirt.

Thanks for letting me rant.  I’ll now go back to being, ahem, gentle.

(All of this doesn’t include the people that take their dogs on poop walks through my yard.  Let them poop in your own yard, thank you very much.  But that’s a rant for another day.)

One thought on “I guess I’ll have to get a fence

  1. buddy

    Well, I just saw Your Ranting …… Hard to believe you were that self disiplined. In view of so much TRESPASSING.
    I am proud of you….. You have come a long way Baby and I love you bunches and bunches.
    Your Buddy, Buddy

Leave a Reply

