It IS cold somewhere…

Rolled Brimmed Hats for Pine Ridge Reservation
Rolled Brim Hats for Pine Ridge Reservation

In eastern NC, it is chilly but compared to many places around the country and the world, these temps are warm. One of those cold places is the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota. It’s not just that area of South Dakota that is cold but that area happens to be an extraordinarily poor area of our country.

Many winters, Elders of the Lakota Sioux Indians freeze to death because of the lack of heating oil, warm clothing or blankets.

I participate in a couple of organizations that donate items and money to the Pine Ridge Reservation. One is Friends of Pine Ridge Reservation that makes members aware of the needs on the Reservation. Another is Love Afghans for Pine Ridge Reservation. The moderator of that group receives crocheted and knitted squares, assembles them into blankets and mails them to elders and families that need them.

As Thanksgiving approaches, what will you do to help someone who is struggling, hungry, cold or imprisoned?

‘For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

Matthew 25:35-36

One thought on “It IS cold somewhere…

Leave a Reply

