notes from the land of burnout

No.  I’m not talking about the kind of burnout where you’re just tired from what you had to do today.  I’m talking about real burnout.

I am trying to do more in the area of recreation.  Look at that word – recreation.  Let’s look at it differently re-creation.  To be created anew.  Merriam Webster defines it as  “refreshment of strength and spirits after work ; also : a means of refreshment or diversion.” I am renewing old friendships and establishing new ones.  I am trying to read more and watch more movies with less television.  I am seeking out opportunities to do something different each week so that the activities will renew me, not add to the burnout.

I am tired…all the time.

I cannot change circumstances at work or at home to I’m trying to take care of the circumstances I can change.  Anyone have any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

