more notes from the land of burnout

There have been several people, who are aware of my circumstances, who have come up to me and said, “Let me know if there’s anything I can do for you.”  Well, my question is, “What can you do for me?”

It’s a lot easier for the offerer to pass the task on to the one that needs the help. It is difficult for the person needing help to be specific when asked that question.   However, many have stepped up without my asking.

The Women of the church have been very generous in getting me some help with my mom so I can go out and have some down time to my self.

People at work have offered to be on call if I reach crisis level and need to get help.

Yesterday, a friend was blessed by someone else and decided, in turn, to bless me with a late lunch.

On the way to that lunch, my pastor phoned me and offered to give me a ride to an open house that a local camp was having.  It was to be a day of rest and relaxation.  Unfortunately, my time would not allow me to attend that function.

Many people just simply don’t know how to help but have the strong desire to do so.  It’s not just for me but for anyone who may be having a crisis:  disease, grief, job loss, etc.

Here are some ways you can help:

  1. Pray.  Pray. Pray.
  2. Offer to prepare a meal.
  3. Just visit.
  4. Offer to go for a walk with that person if they are able.  Just getting outside can do wonders for one’s spirit.
  5. Invite that person to your house for a meal.
  6. (Here’s my favorite.)  Offer to mow their lawn.
  7. Invite them to be a part of a family activity, i.e. boating, day trip, etc.
  8. Phone them for a chat.
  9. Invite them to do something for you.
  10. Listen.
  11. If there are children, bake cookies for them.
  12. Baby sit.

These are just some suggestions.  Don’t ask passive questions.  Ask questions of action.

One thought on “more notes from the land of burnout

  1. I’ll mow your lawn. You can’t mow mine ’cause I haven’t got one. I live on the 6th floor. :))))

    Oh, yes, i believe a few late walks have saved my life and sanity lately thanks to some dear people.

    Oh, and there’s another one- send them a postcard! 😉 (Thank you, melissa, you’ve been helping me without even knowing that! )

Leave a Reply

