My Cat Plays Fetch

Prissy with her toy

I usually lie down when I have lengthy phone calls.  I don’t know why; it  just seems right.  While on the phone yesterday, Prissy, my female feline, jumped on the bed and dropped her toy next to me.  I picked it up and threw it across the room.  Suddenly she pounced across my reclined body and retrieved the toy.  She came back to me and dropped it next to me.  I thought, “Surely she won’t do it again.”  But she did.  She fetched her toy every time I threw it…except of course when she got bored with it.

After the call, I went back to the living room and resumed my computer playing.  She walked around the house with that toy in her mouth until I got another call.  In my usual fashion, I resumed my vertical position on the bed.  To my surprise, Prissy and her toy appeared next to me once again.  I threw it and again she retrieved it and brought me her prize.

I’ve tried to come up with a theological comparison for such retrieving.  But alas, I have drawn a blank.  God is full of surprises.  God gives us his best gifts.  God makes sure that we get the things he wants us to have even if we throw them away.  I realize I’m stretching it a bit.  Do you have any ideas?

Leave a Reply

