Among Us He Shall Stand

As a Christian, I’m not one of these people that celebrates the season of Advent as the preparation of Christmas.  Advent means coming and Jesus has already come the first time.  I celebrate Advent to prepare myself for the 2nd coming of Christ.  As far as preparing my soul for that great and glorious day, I’m afraid I’ve been a bit lacking.

However, I do have a tendency to be a bit hard on myself.  You see, for the past 12 years, it has felt like my world has been falling apart and I have allowed myself to fall away from any acts of piety.  I remind myself daily that it is grace that I have been saved – not about how much I’ve prayed, worshiped, participated in the Eucharist, or helped the needy.  It’s all about Grace.

I had the good fortune to be a part of Tamara Patterson’s Artful Advent this season and God has reminded me yet again that it’s about his Grace.  The “artwork” that I have posted on this blog for Advent are the examples of the work I’ve done in this exercise.   These activities have reminded me of God’s faithfulness and his ever-presence in my life.

As a serendipity in this exercise, I stumbled across an old Allen Levi song called “The World to Come (Among Us He Shall Stand.)  When it came on, I just sat still and listened and recalled my devotion the practice of Advent.  Oh how this song has touched my life through the years!  I have looked everywhere online for a copy of the lyrics or even an online recording but there are none to be found.  So I will have to try my memory.  Allen, if you happen to read this, please forgive my goofs.

The first time he came as a baby in a cradle
The second time a stallion he will ride
The first time he came to a world that shunned his name
The second time he’ll come to claim his bride

That’s the day, the day that I am longing for
When I see him on my own
Sing my praises in his presence
Lay my crown before his throne
And the sky will open all around him
A trumpets blast as long ago was planned
Every knee will bow before him
When among us
When among us
When among us he shall stand.

The first time he came as a carpenter
The second time he’ll come to reign as king
The first time he came to the shouts of angry men
Second time all heaven’s gonna sing

That’s the day, the day that I am longing for
When I see him on my own
Sing my praises in his presence
Lay my crown before his throne
And the sky will open all around him
A trumpets blast as long ago was planned
Every knee will bow before him
When among us
When among us
When among us he shall stand.
When among us
When Jesus Christ shall stand.

We have seen him
We have seen him
We have seen him

We shall see him

Leave a Reply

