Confessions of a Writer Tag

    My friend Jette tagged me on Twitter to answer the following questions.  Some of you will be shocked; some of you won’t.

  • When did you first start writing? Was being a writer something you always aspired to be?
    I started writing in 8th grade when we were invited to write something for a contest.  I am sure that what I wrote had nothing to do with what they wanted.
  • What genre do you write?
    Romance.  Not the kind of romance your mind just traveled to.  There are no heaving bodices or whips and chains.  What I write is the exact opposite of Erotica.  Two people meet and fall in love with a little bit of adventure tossed in to make it interesting.
  • Can you tell us a little about your current work in progress? When did you start working on this project?  Unexpected Refuge was started in my mind several years ago.  It was first put on paper in April of 2015.
  • What was your first piece that you can remember writing? What was it about?
    It was that 8th grade piece – fan fiction for a band that I adored back in…. back then.  I still adore that band.
  • What’s the best part about writing?
    Knowing that I can share a story.
  • What’s the worst part about writing?
    Elaboration.
  • What’s the name of your favourite character and why?
    Oh, I love Niall.  He’s so full of care for people in spite of the troubles he carries.  He’s probably a typical romantic hero – nowhere near being real.
  • How much time a day/week do you get to write? When is the best time for you to write (morning or night)?  Night.  Can’t tell you how much time.  I depends on my work and sleep schedule.
  • Did you go to college for writing?
    HA!  Noooooo.  All of my friends in college did, though.  I think I became a writer by proxy.  I was a music major.
  • Confession time:  The only ‘F’ I ever made was on a paper.
    Don’t worry.  I have since written wonderful theological treatises (exaggeration).  I have also written spiritual devotionals for church publications.  The ‘F’ was a fluke.
  • What bothers you more: spelling errors, punctuation errors or grammar errors?
    All of the above.
  • What is the best writing advice that anyone has given you?
    Don’t stop.  Keep going.
  • What advice would you give to another writer?
    No matter what anyone says, write anyway.
  • What are your favourite writing sites or blogs that you turn to for help, tips or encouragement?
    Honestly, I like talking to a person.  Almost all of my ‘Tweeps’ on Twitter are writers.  I feel comfortable going to them.  I also have some writers nearby that I can turn to .
  • Besides writing, what else do you enjoy doing? What are your hobbies?
    I AM A MUSICIAN.  I always have been.  I always will be.
    I’m also a “fiber artist.”  Not pouring Metamucil on a canvas of glue.  No.  I knit, crochet and spin wool.
  • What’s the best book you’ve read this year?
    Diana Gabaldon is my guilty pleasure.  I gut wrenchingly enjoyed her latest book Written in My Own Heart’s Blood.
  • What is the best movie you’ve seen this year?
    No movies for me.
  • What is your favourite book or series of all time?
    The Outlander Series is one that I read over and over.
  • Who is your favourite author?
    Susanna Kearsley.  Her words flow like water on the page.  I always feel like I’m floating and watching the story like scenery on a shore.
  • What are your plans for the rest of the year in terms of your writing?
    Continue to work on Unexpected Refuge and NaNoWriMo.
  • Where else can we find you online?
    Twitter @beajames15

I am tagging:
@SusannaKearsley
@iamsteveaustin
@rrvirdi
@k_d_baldwin
To make finding the questions easier, here they are:

When did you first start writing? Was being a writer something you always aspired to be?
What genre do you write?
Can you tell us a little about your current work in progress? When did you start working on this project?
What was your first piece that you can remember writing? What was it about?
What’s the best part about writing?
What’s the worst part about writing?
What’s the name of your favourite character and why?
How much time a day/week do you get to write? When is the best time for you to write (morning or night)?
Did you go to college for writing?
What bothers you more: spelling errors, punctuation errors or grammar errors?
What is the best writing advice that anyone has given you?
What advice would you give to another writer?
What are your favourite writing sites or blogs that you turn to for help, tips or encouragement?
Besides writing, what else do you enjoy doing? What are your hobbies?
What’s the best book you’ve read this year?
What is the best movie you’ve seen this year?
What is your favourite book or series of all time?
Who is your favourite author?
What are your plans for the rest of the year in terms of your writing?
Where else can we find you online?

Leave a Reply

